Home / Japanese Craft / Mino-yaki Shino Tokkuri: Momoyama Sake Flask…
Japanese Craft

Mino-yaki Shino Tokkuri: Momoyama Sake Flask Buying Guide [2026]

Mino-yaki Shino Tokkuri: Momoyama Sake Flask Buying Guide [2026]
📢 PR: This article contains Amazon affiliate links (US primary, Japan secondary) (details).
⚡ At a glance
  • What it is: a two-gō Mino-yaki tokkuri, the narrow-necked flask used to warm and pour sake, listed at approx. 260 ml and 17.5 cm tall
  • Made in: Japan — Mino ware country around Tajimi, Toki and Kani in eastern Gifu, a kiln district with more than a thousand years of firing history
  • Price band: budget — under ¥1,000 for the single listed flask (¥869 as of 2026-10-27; verify on the listing)
  • Best for: a first Shino-adjacent sake flask, or a host who wants one honest working vessel rather than a boxed set
  • Skip if: you need the Shino glaze confirmed in writing, a named workshop, or a gift box
  • Shipping: ships internationally from Amazon Japan — jump to our pick ↓

The white on a Shino vessel is not paint. It is feldspar, ground fine and held in suspension, laid on thick, then fired until it pools, breaks, and settles into a surface somewhere between snow and stone. That single material decision is why a sake flask from eastern Gifu can carry the look of a Momoyama tea room onto an ordinary dinner table.

The vessel here is a tokkuri (徳利), the narrow-necked flask that holds sake while it is warmed and poured. This one is a two-gō (二合) Mino-yaki flask, listed at approximately 260 ml and 17.5 cm tall, made in Japan and offered through Amazon Japan at ¥869 (≈ $6 USD as of October 27, 2026). It comes out of the kiln district around Tajimi, Toki and Kani in eastern Gifu Prefecture — the towns that have supplied Mino ware for over a millennium.

This guide is for readers outside Japan who want one inexpensive, honest entry point into that tradition, and who want to know exactly what the listing says and what it leaves out. It covers who the flask suits, the specs that are actually published, how Shino sits inside Mino ware, what shipping from Japan involves, and how this single piece compares with the other routes into the same shelf.

📅 Published
🔄 Updated
⏱️ 8 min read
Mino-yaki tokkuri sake flask, 260 ml, 17.5 cm tall
The listed Mino-yaki tokkuri: two-gō size, approx. 260 ml, about 6 cm across and 17.5 cm tall. Listing image.

Who this is for — and who should skip it

✅ This is for you if…
  • You want a working tokkuri, not a display piece — something that goes from warm water to the table without ceremony.
  • You are curious about Mino ware and would rather start with one ¥869 flask than a signed, boxed set costing many times more.
  • You pour sake for one or two people and prefer the slower rhythm of a flask over a large bottle on the table.
  • You want a vessel the listing explicitly says is microwave and dishwasher safe.
  • You are building a mixed table of Japanese ceramics and need a light-toned accent that is not precious.
⛔ Skip it if…
  • You need a documented Shino glaze. The listing names Mino ware and does not name a glaze.
  • You want a named workshop or a potter’s mark. The listing gives neither.
  • You are buying a gift that must arrive boxed, with a paper wrapper and a noshi envelope.
  • You need four flasks and eight cups for a party — this is a single vessel.
  • You expect the irregular lip and thumb marks of a hand-thrown piece; nothing in the listing promises them.

Product overview (from published specs)

ℹ️ The listing is thin on material detail — glaze type, body composition and maker are not stated. The linked listing is authoritative; unconfirmed attributes are marked below.

Amazon.co.jp · Global StoreAffiliate link
Mino-yaki Shino Tokkuri

Mino-yaki Shino Tokkuri

美濃焼 徳利 二合 きき酒 とっくり 2号 容量約260ml 直径約6×高さ17.5cm 冷酒器 熱燗 電子レンジ対応 食洗機対応 日本製 410-6-41E

¥8699 points back

在庫あり。 · Sold by Amazon.co.jp · ASIN B01LXDA5H7

Price and availability as of 2026-10-27 09:15 JST. The Amazon listing at the time of purchase is authoritative. jpmono.com earns a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

Attribute Listed value
Item Mino-yaki tokkuri (sake flask), two-gō / size 2
Capacity Approx. 260 ml
Dimensions Diameter approx. 6 cm × height approx. 17.5 cm
Set contents One tokkuri (the title describes a single flask; no cups or box)
Glaze / finish Not stated — Shino is not named in the listing
Material Not stated (Mino ware is fired stoneware as a category)
Microwave Yes, per the listing
Dishwasher Yes, per the listing
Made in Japan
Maker / brand Not stated; seller is Amazon.co.jp
Item code 410-6-41E
Condition New
Price ¥869 (≈ $6 USD as of 2026-10-27; verify on the listing)
⚖️ Shino, Oribe, Ki-Seto, Setoguro — the Mino family in one line each
Shino
Thick white feldspar glaze; the white most readers picture when they think of Mino tea ware.

Oribe
Copper-green glaze, often over a pale ground; the vivid counterpoint to Shino.

Ki-Seto
Yellowish ash-glazed ware in the Seto-derived Mino repertoire.

Setoguro
Dark, iron-rich glaze pulled hot from the kiln; the Mino family’s black sheep, literally.

📖 Glossary — the words used in this guide
Tokkuri (徳利)
A narrow-necked sake flask. Sake is poured in, warmed (often standing in hot water), and poured out into small cups.
Mino-yaki (美濃焼)
Pottery made in the Mino district of eastern Gifu Prefecture, centered on Tajimi, Toki and Kani.
Shino (志野)
A Mino tea-ware style identified with a thick white feldspar glaze, developed in the Momoyama period.
Momoyama period
The late 16th century, when the tea ceremony drove a burst of new Mino glaze styles.
Gō (合)
A traditional volume unit, about 180 ml. A two-gō flask is nominally around 360 ml, though this listing states approx. 260 ml — the listed figure is the practical one.
Kikizake (きき酒)
Sake tasting — comparing several sakes side by side, the use named in the listing title.
Feldspar glaze
A glaze built on feldspar rather than clay or ash; fired thick, it gives Shino its opaque white.

📍 Where this comes from — place, era, and the craft tradition

📍
Where this is made
Gifu (Gifu, Chūbu)
Landlocked central Honshu, roughly 35.4°N 136.8°E — the Mino kiln towns of Tajimi, Toki and Kani sit northeast of Nagoya, on the eastern side of the prefecture.

📍 Gifu Prefecture is in the mountainous interior of central Honshū.

Gifu is one of Japan’s inland prefectures: no coast, no port, and no obvious reason for a ceramics industry to have taken root except the ground itself. The prefecture stretches a long way north to south. Its northern half is mountain country — the Hida range, the thatched villages of Shirakawa-go, snow deep enough to shape the architecture. Its southern half, the Mino district, is where the kilns are, and it looks like a different place: lower, warmer, and crisscrossed by rivers that drain toward Ise Bay.

The Nagara River runs through the prefecture’s capital city, also called Gifu, where cormorant fishing has been practiced for centuries along the castle town at its heart. Tajimi, Toki and Kani lie east and northeast of Nagoya, connected to it by the same river plain that made the region easy to supply and easy to ship from. A potter in Tajimi is working in a basin that has been firing clay for a very long time and selling it into a dense market.

Cormorant fishing boat on the Nagara River at dusk
Cormorant fishing on the Nagara River has been practiced for centuries along the castle town at the heart of Gifu. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC0)

The historical anchor for any Mino vessel is the Momoyama period. In the late 16th century, Mino potters produced Shino, Oribe, Ki-Seto and Setoguro wares for the tea ceremony, and those four names still organize how the district’s output is described. Shino is the one identified with a thick white feldspar glaze — an opaque white that hides the clay beneath it and turns every crack, pool and thin patch into part of the surface.

Gifu Castle standing on the wooded summit of Mount Kinka
Gifu Castle on Mount Kinka overlooked the province whose kilns gave rise to Shino and Oribe wares in the Momoyama period. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 3.0)
📜 Timeline — eastern Mino, from kiln sites to a ¥869 flask
  • More than 1,000 years ago — Kiln sites are firing in eastern Mino, the district that still holds Tajimi, Toki and Kani.
  • Early 13th century — A fortification goes up on Mount Kinka above the Nagara; the castle site later becomes Gifu Castle, watching over the province.
  • Late 16th century — The Momoyama period: Mino potters make Shino, Oribe, Ki-Seto and Setoguro wares for the tea ceremony.
  • Late 16th century onward — Shino becomes identified with the thick white feldspar glaze, and that identification holds into the present.
  • 20th century — Tajimi, Toki and Kani consolidate as the working towns of the Mino ware industry, supplying both tea ware and everyday tableware.
  • 2026 — A two-gō Mino-yaki tokkuri, approx. 260 ml, is listed on Amazon Japan at ¥869.

What “still made here” means for Mino ware is different from the single-workshop continuity story told about smaller Japanese crafts. The district is a cluster, not a family. Tajimi, Toki and Kani hold the kilns, the suppliers, the mold makers and the glaze labs, and the output runs from tea bowls priced like cars to rice bowls stacked in a hundred shops. The Shino white is still the reference point — a potter working in the district can fire it, sell it, and be understood without a paragraph of explanation.

Aerial view of Tajimi city and its surrounding basin
Tajimi is one of the towns at the center of Mino ware production, surrounded by kiln sites and clay deposits. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0)
Thatched farmhouses at Shirakawa-go under a mountain slope
Shirakawa-go’s steep thatched farmhouses show the mountain climate of northern Gifu, in contrast to the kiln towns of the south. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC BY 2.5)

A tokkuri sits at the working end of all this. It is filled, warmed, carried, poured, and refilled, which is a harder life than a tea bowl’s. In winter the flask goes into a pan of hot water; in summer the same flask holds chilled sake. The form is old enough that the proportions are settled: a narrow neck to slow the pour, a body wide enough to warm evenly, a mouth small enough to keep the aroma in. A Shino tokkuri is the same object with a tea-room glaze on it — the Momoyama vocabulary applied to a vessel that gets used on a Tuesday.

“Shino’s white is feldspar, fired thick — the same family of glaze the Mino kilns were using in the late 16th century, still doing the same work on a sake flask.”

📌 How does it compare?

Other pieces in the same Mino and Japanese-ceramic orbit — the comparison set for anyone choosing a first vessel or building a table around one.

Price snapshot across stores

Store Item / variant Price (JPY, USD est.) Notes
🇺🇸 Amazon US (search) Browse Japanese sake ware varies (USD) Best if you are shopping from the US — Prime shipping, USD pricing, no customs. Amazon US carries Japanese ceramics from other makers; this exact Mino-yaki flask ships from Japan (next row).
🇯🇵 Amazon JP Global Store Mino-yaki tokkuri, two-gō, approx. 260 ml — 410-6-41E ¥869 (≈ $6 USD as of 2026-10-27) Ships internationally from Japan to 65+ countries — including Canada, the UK and Australia — with import fees estimated at checkout. In stock; sold by Amazon.co.jp. Verify the price on the listing.
Maker direct Workshop not identified — The listing does not name a maker, so there is no workshop page to order from. Check the seller information on the listing.
Proxy services (Buyee / Tenso) Same item, forwarded ¥869 + forwarding fees Only worth it if the Global Store will not ship to your address; forwarding and consolidation add cost and time.

Prices in USD are approximate and depend on the current exchange rate (¥150/USD baseline). The JPY figure is the authoritative one for the listed item. Prices and stock fluctuate — confirm on the retailer page before buying.

📦 Shipping & where to buy from outside Japan

Amazon Japan’s Global Store ships internationally on a large share of household ceramics, and the listing shows stock as available. Shipping usually runs $15–$40 to the US and the EU, with similar bands to Canada, the UK and Australia. Shipping cost can exceed the price of a ¥869 flask, which is the honest arithmetic of buying one inexpensive ceramic from Japan.

Before you check out
  • Confirm the destination is served by the Global Store — not every listing ships to every country.
  • Check the import-fee estimate at checkout; Amazon collects or estimates duties for most destinations.
  • Orders above your local customs threshold may attract duty or handling charges on delivery.
  • One flask in one box is cheap to ship; consolidating with other items is where the economics improve.

If the Global Store will not ship to you, a proxy such as Buyee or Tenso will forward the parcel from a Japanese address, at added cost. The item itself is not rare, so it is also worth checking whether a local Japanese-goods shop or a ceramics importer near you stocks Mino ware before paying for a single-flask shipment.

What it does well

A real working format
The two-gō size and 17.5 cm height are the proportions a tokkuri is supposed to have: easy to hold, slow to pour, stable in a pan of hot water.

Care is stated, not implied
Microwave and dishwasher compatibility are both in the listing. That is unusual detail at this price and it removes the usual guesswork.

An honest entry price
At ¥869, the flask costs less than the shipping. It is a low-risk way to find out whether a narrow-neck pour suits your table.

Made in the Mino district
Mino-yaki and 日本製 (made in Japan) are both declared in the title, so the regional claim at least has a stated basis, even if the glaze does not.

Weaknesses and things to verify before buying

  1. The Shino attribution is not in the listing. The title says Mino-yaki and does not name a glaze. If the white feldspar glaze is the reason you are buying, ask the seller before ordering.
  2. No maker is named. There is no workshop, no kiln mark, and no potter attached to the item code 410-6-41E. You are buying the category, not a name.
  3. One piece, no accessories. The listing describes a single flask. No cups, no box, and no gift packaging are stated.
  4. 260 ml is small for a group. Nominally two-gō, the listed capacity is 260 ml — roughly three small cups. For four or more drinkers you will be refilling constantly.
  5. Body material and weight are unstated. There is no gram figure and no clay description, so you cannot judge heft or wall thickness before the parcel arrives.
  6. Direct-flame use is not stated. Microwave is listed; a flame or an open brazier is not. Warm the sake in a water bath or the microwave, not over a burner.
  7. Shipping can cost more than the flask. For a single ¥869 item, freight and import fees dominate the total. Consolidate the order if you can.
🧼 Care & everyday use
  • 🍽️ Dishwasher: yes, per the listing
  • ♨️ Microwave: yes, per the listing
  • 🧴 Daily care: empty and rinse after use, then let the flask dry mouth-down so no water sits in the base; avoid moving it straight from hot water to a cold surface

Conclusion — which buyer type are you?

The four branches below are the honest split. The same ¥869 flask is the right answer for one reader and the wrong one for the next, and the difference is what you expect the object to prove.

Premium
Collector / gift buyer
You want a named workshop, a box, and a glaze you can trace. This listing will not satisfy that. Look for a signed Shino tokkuri from a Mino studio instead.

Mainstream
Weekly sake host
You pour for two or three people, you warm sake in winter, and you want a vessel that survives the dishwasher. This is the straightforward buy.

Budget
First flask, first ceramic
You are testing whether a tokkuri fits your habits at all. At ¥869 the experiment costs less than a bottle of good sake.

Skip it
Anyone who needs certainty
You need a named workshop, a documented glaze, or a gift box. None of the three is stated here, and no amount of regional context substitutes for them.

Other ways to approach this purchase

⏳ Wait for a sale
At ¥869 there is little room for a discount, but Amazon JP runs seasonal promotions and coupon campaigns. A saved cart is enough of a watchlist.

🏺 Refurbished — seconds and kiln variants
Ceramics are not refinished the way electronics are, but Mino studios and district shops sell kiln seconds and uneven glaze runs at lower prices. The flaw is usually cosmetic and the vessel still pours.

💳 Points and rewards
If you already hold Amazon JP credit or a card with a Japan-purchase category, the effective price drops by more than a typical discount would.

⏭️ Skip it
If the flask is a gift or you need a documented glaze, put the budget toward a tokkuri-and-cup set from a named Mino studio instead.

🏆 Editor’s Pick

Our pick — Mino-yaki tokkuri, two-gō, ¥869

Mino-yaki Tokkuri — 二合 (approx. 260 ml), 6 × 17.5 cm, 410-6-41E. Sold by Amazon.co.jp, in stock, new.

  • The proportions are the standard working ones — 17.5 cm tall, approx. 260 ml, a neck narrow enough to control the pour.
  • Microwave and dishwasher compatibility are both declared, so it can live in a normal kitchen rather than a display cabinet.
  • At ¥869 (≈ $6 USD as of 2026-10-27; verify on the listing) it is the lowest-risk way to try a Mino flask.
Mino-yaki tokkuri sake flask, 260 ml, made in Japan

Listing states Mino-yaki and made in Japan; the glaze is not named, so the Shino glaze is unconfirmed for this specific piece.

❓ Frequently Asked Questions

Is this actually a Shino piece?

The listing says Mino-yaki and does not name a glaze, so Shino is unconfirmed for this flask. Mino is where Shino comes from, but the listing itself only claims the region and the made-in-Japan origin.

How much does it cost?

¥869 (≈ $6 USD at a ¥150/USD baseline) as of 2026-10-27. Verify the price on the listing, since Amazon JP pricing and stock move.

Can it go in the dishwasher and the microwave?

Yes — the listing states both are supported. Hand-washing still tends to be gentler on any glaze over time.

The title says two-gō but the capacity is 260 ml. Which is right?

Two-gō is the nominal size class, around 360 ml on paper. The listing’s own capacity figure is approx. 260 ml — treat that as the working volume, about three small cups.

Will it ship to Canada, the UK or Australia?

Amazon JP’s Global Store ships to 65+ countries, including Canada, the UK and Australia. Import fees are usually estimated at checkout; confirm your destination is served before ordering.

Is it suitable as a gift?

Only as a casual gift. The listing describes a single flask and mentions no box, paper wrapping or gift service, so a presentation box would have to be sourced separately.

Can I warm sake directly over a flame in it?

The listing does not state direct-flame use. Microwave is stated; for a water bath, stand the flask in hot water rather than putting it over a burner.


📢 Affiliate Disclosure — This article contains affiliate links from the Amazon Associates Program. The primary path is Amazon US (amazon.com) via search — many of these hand-forged Japanese craft items are not individually listed on amazon.com, but Amazon US carries comparable Japanese kitchen and home goods, and commissions on whatever the visitor purchases through the search link go to support this site. The secondary path is Amazon JP Global Store (amazon.co.jp), which is where the specific items covered in this guide are sourced from and which ships internationally to most major destinations. If you make a purchase through either of these links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices and availability shown are based on data at the time of writing and may have changed — always verify at the retailer before purchasing. USD figures shown alongside JPY are approximate (¥150/USD baseline as of mid-2026); the JPY price is the authoritative one for the specific listed item.

jpmono.com is curated by a Japan-based editorial team (working out of Toyama in the Hokuriku region and Nara in Kansai) and is independent. We do not take payment from the makers we feature; income comes from affiliate links. We do not physically test every product — we read maker specifications and source listings. Read more about our editorial standards.

Note: this article was drafted with the help of AI tools and reviewed by our editorial team before publication.

Affiliate disclosure: jpmono.com may earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no additional cost to you.