Home / Japanese Craft / Sakai Takayuki Santoku Knife: Osaka Heritage…
Japanese Craft

Sakai Takayuki Santoku Knife: Osaka Heritage Blade Guide [2026]

Sakai Takayuki Santoku Knife: Osaka Heritage Blade Guide [2026]
📢 PR: This article contains Amazon affiliate links (US primary, Japan secondary) (details).
⚡ At a glance
  • What it is: A Sakai Takayuki brand santoku (all-purpose kitchen knife) with a 160 mm blade in 33-layer hammered Damascus-style laminate and a mahogany handle, listed as Made in Japan.
  • Made in: Sakai, Osaka — home of the Sakai Uchihamono blade tradition of divided labor among blacksmiths, sharpeners, and handle-makers.
  • Price band: ¥29,800 (≈ $199 USD as of October 2026) for the featured Amazon JP listing, as of 2026-10-11, verify on the listing — mid-range for a layered-steel santoku from a heritage Sakai brand.
  • Best for: Home cooks who want one Japanese all-purpose knife for daily meat, fish, and vegetables.
  • Skip if: You need a long chef knife for large cuts, a single-purpose sashimi or vegetable knife, or a fully specified handmade-to-order blade.
  • Shipping: The featured piece ships internationally from Amazon Japan — jump to our pick ↓

Sakai Takayuki Santoku Knife: Osaka Heritage Blade Guide [2026]

Thirty-three layers of steel step back from the edge of a 160 mm blade, each hammer mark catching the light above a dark mahogany handle. That is the everyday sight this guide is about: a Sakai Takayuki brand santoku, the all-purpose Japanese kitchen knife that moves from meat to fish to vegetables without changing tools. Per the Amazon JP listing snapshot as of October 11, 2026, the featured piece is a Damascus-style 33-layer hammered (tsuchime) santoku, 160 mm, with a mahogany handle, listed as Made in Japan, sold New by KitcheNavi, and shown as in stock.

Sakai City on Osaka Bay is a historic port and merchant city, and its forged blades, known as Sakai Uchihamono, are a nationally designated traditional craft made through a division of labor among blacksmiths, sharpeners, and handle-makers. The santoku itself is the postwar Japanese answer to the home kitchen: one balanced, medium-length blade for the three virtues implied by its name, distinct from the longer pointed gyuto and the straight-edged vegetable nakiri. Based on listings and the data available at the time of writing, the Sakai Takayuki name represents a long-standing Sakai brand that organizes local smiths and sharpeners rather than a single named workshop.

This article is written from a Japan-based editorial desk working out of Toyama and Nara, for international readers who cannot simply walk into a Sakai cutlery shop. It covers what the published specs confirm, where the craft comes from, how the featured listing compares with nearby alternatives, what it does well, what to verify before buying, and how to order from outside Japan. Only the Amazon JP listing snapshot was available for the featured piece; live pricing may have shifted since the writing date, so the linked listing is authoritative.

Published: Updated: Read time: about 12 minutes
Sakai Takayuki santoku knife with layered steel blade
The featured Sakai Takayuki santoku type covered in this guide, 160 mm layered-steel blade with mahogany handle. Per the Amazon JP listing as of October 11, 2026.

Who this is for — and who should skip it

✓ This knife fits if you
  • Cook meat, fish, and vegetables in one session and want a single balanced blade for all three.
  • Prefer a medium 160 mm edge that feels nimble on a home-size cutting board.
  • Like the look of hammered Damascus-style laminate and a warm wooden handle.
  • Value a Sakai-organized blade with a nationally designated craft tradition behind it.
  • Order from outside Japan and want a specific Amazon JP Global Store listing with worldwide shipping.
✕ Skip it if you
  • Break down large roasts, melons, or whole cabbage daily, where a 210 mm or longer gyuto serves better.
  • Want a dedicated yanagiba for sashimi or a dedicated nakiri for high-volume vegetable work.
  • Need the name of the individual smith and sharpener on the piece, since the listing does not state them.
  • Expect full published specs for core steel, hardness, edge angle, and weight, which the snapshot does not confirm.
  • Prefer a fully handmade-to-order blade with direct maker correspondence over a marketplace listing.

Product overview (from published specs)

Spec sheets indicate a compact all-purpose package: a 160 mm santoku edge in 33-layer hammered laminate with a mahogany handle, presented as a single all-purpose knife (hocho) made in Japan. The table below keeps strictly to what the listing snapshot states, and marks the rest as unconfirmed rather than filling gaps from memory.

Amazon.co.jp · Global StoreAffiliate link
Sakai Takayuki Santoku Knife

Sakai Takayuki Santoku Knife

堺孝行 【プロの料理人が愛用!600年の伝統技術】 ダマスカス 剣型 33層槌目 三徳包丁 160mm マホガニー柄 [日本製] 万能包丁

¥29,800

在庫あり。 · Sold by KitcheNavi · ASIN B0D6GNCCQQ

Price and availability as of 2026-10-11 09:14 JST. The Amazon listing at the time of purchase is authoritative. jpmono.com earns a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

Attribute Amazon JP Global Store (featured listing) Amazon US (search)
Brand Sakai Takayuki (堺孝行), per listing title Browse Japanese kitchen knives; exact maker varies
Item Single santoku, all-purpose (万能包丁); not a set Comparable santoku and gyuto from other makers
Blade length 160 mm, per listing title Unconfirmed — check manufacturer site
Construction Damascus-style 33-layer hammered (33層槌目) laminate, sword-tip (剣型) profile, per listing title Unconfirmed — check manufacturer site
Handle Mahogany (マホガニー柄), per listing title Unconfirmed — check manufacturer site
Origin Made in Japan (日本製), per listing; Sakai Takayuki is a long-standing Sakai brand organizing local smiths and sharpeners —
Core steel / hardness / weight Unconfirmed — check manufacturer site Unconfirmed — check manufacturer site
Condition / seller New, sold by KitcheNavi, shown as in stock as of October 11, 2026 varies (USD)
Price ¥29,800 (≈ $199 USD as of October 2026), as of 2026-10-11, verify on the listing varies (USD)

The listing does not name the individual blacksmith, sharpener, or handle-maker behind this piece, so the specific workshop division is unconfirmed. Prices in USD are approximate and depend on the current exchange rate.

Where this comes from — Sakai, Osaka and the Uchihamono tradition

📍
Where this is made
Sakai (Osaka, Kansai)
Southwest coast of Osaka Bay, about 15 km south of central Osaka and about 400 km west of Tokyo, reached in roughly 2h30m by shinkansen with a local transfer
📍 Osaka Prefecture is in western Honshū, the historic heartland around Kyoto, Osaka and Nara.

Sakai sits on the southwest shore of Osaka Bay in Osaka Prefecture, in the Kansai region — about 15 km south of central Osaka, sheltered on the bay side with old port routes running north toward the Yodo River mouth and east toward the Nara basin. Osaka Castle, raised over the late 16th century on its stone-footed hill, still reads as the symbol of the merchant city whose money, rice brokerage, and wholesale networks moved Sakai metalwork outward. The geography explains the craft better than any slogan: a port for iron sand and charcoal routes, a merchant city for distribution, and a dense urban kitchen culture that has always needed sharp, serviceable blades.

Osaka Castle above its outer moat in autumn
Osaka Castle, symbol of the merchant city that supported Sakai metalworking and distribution. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0)
Mozu burial mounds and green tour route in Sakai
Mozu Tombs in Sakai, ancient mounds showing the long continuity of the Sakai area. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC BY 4.0)

The commonly told story is that Sakai blade-making reaches back about six centuries, to an era when warlord demand for cutting tools seeded forging work around the port town, and the featured listing itself frames the lineage in those terms with its reference to 600 years of traditional technique. Nara served as Japan’s capital from 710 to 794, the Nara period, when the imperial court first concentrated metalworkers and other artisans into permanent workshops, and the Kansai region has carried that institutional memory of organized craft ever since. The data suggests the Edo-period merchant economy then did the rest: Sakai prospered as an autonomous port-and-market city whose wholesalers, Sakai Takayuki among the long-standing blade houses, connected forging districts with professional kitchens across the country.

📜 Timeline — Sakai blades and the Osaka kitchen region

  • c. 5th century — Mound tombs rise on the Sakai plain; the Mozu group still defines the area today

  • 710–794 — Nara serves as Japan’s capital; court workshops concentrate metalworkers and other artisans

  • 16th century (range) — The commonly told story places the roots of Sakai blade-making in this era of warlord-era demand

  • 1603–1868 — Sakai prospers as a merchant port city whose metalworking and wholesale networks carry blades outward

  • Today — Sakai Uchihamono continues as a nationally designated traditional craft of divided labor: blacksmiths, sharpeners, and handle-makers

  • October 11, 2026 — Featured listing snapshot: Sakai Takayuki Damascus santoku 160 mm at ¥29,800, New, in stock

What still being made here actually means is visible in the division of labor itself. Sakai Uchihamono forged blades are a nationally designated traditional craft, and the work is split by specialty: blacksmiths forge, sharpeners put on the edge, and handle-makers fit the grip, with wholesalers such as Sakai Takayuki organizing the chain. That structure is the continuity case — not one famous name, but a district of interlocking specialties that still turns out professional and home blades daily.

Sumiyoshi Taisha shrine grounds near old Osaka port routes
Sumiyoshi Taisha in Osaka, old shrine near the historic port routes linked to Sakai crafts. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC0)

Osaka’s kitchen culture closes the loop between place and product. Dotonbori, the canal-side food street at the city’s center, condenses the everyday cooking — sliced fish, chopped greens, quick meat preparation — for which the santoku was shaped. A 160 mm all-purpose edge earns its keep precisely in that rhythm: short enough for a crowded home counter, long enough to span a daikon round or a chicken thigh without sawing.

Dotonbori food street canal and signboards in Osaka
Dotonbori in Osaka, center of the food culture that uses all-purpose santoku knives daily. — Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC BY 2.0)

Three jobs in one blade — meat, fish, and vegetables — without changing knives on a crowded home counter.

⚖️ Santoku vs its neighbors — which shape matches the task
Santoku (this guide, 160 mm)
Balanced all-purpose edge for daily meat, fish, and vegetables; nimble on home boards.
Gyuto / Nakiri
Gyuto runs longer with a pointed tip for large cuts and rocking; nakiri is straight-edged for vegetables. Pick one of these when a single task dominates.
📖 Glossary — Japanese knife terms in this guide

Santoku (三徳包丁, “three-virtue knife”): an all-purpose Japanese kitchen knife for meat, fish, and vegetables, usually 160–180 mm at home.

Sakai Uchihamono (堺打刃物, “Sakai forged blades”): the Sakai blade tradition of divided labor among blacksmiths, sharpeners, and handle-makers, recognized as a nationally designated traditional craft.

Damascus laminate: layered steel cladding that shows a wavy or rippled pattern; makers use it for appearance and, depending on construction, edge support.

Tsuchime (槌目, “hammer marks”): a hand-hammered dimpled finish on the blade face, traditionally believed to help food release from the steel.

Gyuto (牛刀, “beef knife”): the Japanese chef knife, longer and pointed, suited to large cuts and rocking motion.

Nakiri (菜切, “vegetable cutter”): a straight-edged knife shaped for push-cutting vegetables.

Which finish should you choose?

This piece is listed in 8 colours. The photos below are the actual colour options on the listing right now — pick the one you want and confirm it on the product page before ordering, since hand-finished wares vary slightly piece to piece.

📌 How does it compare?
Nearby guides on this site place the Sakai santoku against longer chef knives, other santoku, and neighboring crafts. Open any card to compare geometry, use case, and price band.
Sakai Takayuki Gyuto

Same Sakai house in a longer pointed chef profile, for cooks who want reach over compactness.
Osaka Naniwa Tin Tumbler

Another Osaka craft for the table, in cast tin rather than steel, for serving rather than cutting.
Tojiro Sanjo Santoku

A Sanjo-made santoku from Niigata, the natural cross-shop for buyers comparing forging regions.
Kaga Nakiri

A dedicated vegetable nakiri from the Kaga region, for cooks whose board is mostly greens.
Tsukiji Yanagiba

A single-purpose sashimi blade from Tokyo, the specialist opposite of the all-purpose santoku.

Price snapshot across stores

Only the Amazon JP listing snapshot was available for the featured piece, so the table below anchors on that row and keeps the rest honest. Per the snapshot as of October 11, 2026, the Damascus santoku 160 mm with mahogany handle is listed New at ¥29,800 (≈ $199 USD as of October 2026), sold by KitcheNavi and shown as in stock — always verify at the retailer before purchasing.

Store Item / variant Price (JPY + USD est.) Notes
🇺🇸 Amazon US (search) Browse Japanese kitchen knives varies (USD) Best if shopping from the US — Prime shipping, USD pricing, no international customs. Amazon US carries hand-forged Japanese kitchen knives from several makers, useful for comparing geometry and price tiers. The exact Sakai Takayuki Damascus santoku in this guide ships from Japan (next row).
🇯🇵 Amazon JP Global Store Sakai Takayuki Damascus hammered santoku 160 mm, mahogany handle, Made in Japan, New ¥29,800 (≈ $199 USD as of October 2026), as of 2026-10-11, verify on the listing Ships internationally from Japan to 65+ countries — including Canada, the UK and Australia — with import fees estimated at checkout. Sold by KitcheNavi, shown as in stock in the snapshot.
Maker direct Sakai Takayuki line via official distributors Unconfirmed — check manufacturer site Official channels may list neighboring santoku variants; international shipping and English support vary by shop.
Proxy services (Buyee / Tenso) Forwarding for Japan-only cutlery listings Item price plus service and shipping fees Useful when a domestic-only shop will not ship abroad; forwarding adds handling time and per-parcel fees.

📦 Shipping & where to buy from outside Japan

Amazon JP Global Store ships many household items worldwide, and cutlery of this size generally travels without the restrictions that affect some regulated goods, though the listing page remains authoritative on current eligibility. Based on Amazon’s published international program, shipments from Japan reach 65+ countries including Canada, the UK and Australia, with import fees estimated and collected at checkout for most destinations. Readers in those three markets can use the linked country guides for address, customs, and delivery details.

📦 Delivery sketch — what to expect
Cost and speed
Budget roughly $15–$40 to the US and EU, with similar bands for Canada, the UK, and Australia, depending on speed and parcel size. Knives ship in compact boxes, which helps.
Duties and alternatives
Orders above local duty-free thresholds may attract customs charges; Amazon estimates these at checkout. If the listing ever blocks direct shipping, maker distributors or proxy services such as Buyee and Tenso forward Japan-only parcels.

What it does well

🔪
One blade for the daily trio
The santoku form covers meat, fish, and vegetables in a single 160 mm edge, so weeknight cooking needs fewer tool changes.
🌊
Layered, hammered blade face
The 33-layer Damascus-style laminate with hammer marks gives the blade its patterned face, and such dimpled finishes are traditionally believed to help food release.
🪵
Mahogany handle, home-friendly size
Per the listing, a mahogany grip pairs with the 160 mm edge for a compact, balanced package that suits smaller cutting boards.
🏭
Sakai-organized supply chain
The Sakai Takayuki name sits atop the Sakai division of labor — forging, sharpening, and handle-fitting by specialty — behind a nationally designated blade tradition.

Weaknesses and things to verify before buying

  1. Core steel is unstated. The title confirms a 33-layer Damascus-style laminate but does not name the core steel, hardness, or edge angle, so sharpness character and honing needs cannot be judged from the snapshot. Confirm on the listing or maker page.
  2. Weight and balance are unstated. No weight, spine thickness, or balance point appears in the snapshot, which matters for small hands and long prep sessions. Check the listing details before committing.
  3. 160 mm limits large work. The data suggests this length suits home boards, but splitting large squash, long daikon, or roasts will feel short next to a 210 mm gyuto. Buyers who routinely cut big produce should size up.
  4. Layered steel still needs drying. Stainless-clad blades resist staining far better than carbon steel, yet the edge and hammer dimples hold moisture. Plan on prompt washing and full drying, and confirm dishwasher guidance with the seller.
  5. Wooden handles dislike soaking. Mahogany reads as warm and comfortable, but wooden grips generally swell or dull with dishwasher cycles and long soaks. Hand-wash the handle and oil it as directed.
  6. Price and stock move. The ¥29,800 (≈ $199 USD as of October 2026) figure and the in-stock note reflect October 11, 2026 only. Live pricing may have shifted since the writing date, so verify on the listing.

Conclusion — which buyer type are you?

Premium — heritage first
Choose the featured Damascus santoku when a Sakai-organized blade with a patterned, hammered face is the point. Verify core-steel details with the seller, then order through the JP Global Store row.
Mainstream — daily all-purpose
Choose it when one 160 mm knife should cover meat, fish, and vegetables on a home board. The mahogany-handled package is sized for exactly that routine.
Budget — compare first
Compare the Tojiro Sanjo santoku card above when price matters most, since Sanjo blades often list lower. Return here if the Sakai origin and hammered finish justify the gap.
Skip it — specialist needed
Pass when the board is dominated by one task: a gyuto for length, a nakiri for vegetables, or a yanagiba for sashimi. The cards above point to each path.

Other ways to approach this purchase

⏳ Wait for a sale
Marketplace cutlery pricing moves with campaigns. Watch the featured listing and compare against the Amazon US search row before deciding.
♻️ Consider refurbished or open-box
Warehouse or open-box santoku from neighboring makers can cut cost, though the exact Sakai Takayuki Damascus piece rarely appears there. Inspect return terms closely.
⭐ Use points and rewards
Card points or Amazon points can offset the ¥29,800 tier without changing the knife. Stack them at checkout on whichever store path is chosen.
🚫 Skip it entirely
When the current knife still cuts well, a whetstone and a honing routine beat a new purchase. Revisit this guide when the edge no longer responds.

🏆 Editor’s Pick

🏆 Editor’s Pick — the santoku we would start with
Sakai Takayuki Damascus Hammered Santoku 160 mm, Mahogany Handle, Made in Japan

Per the Amazon JP listing as of October 11, 2026, this is a single New all-purpose santoku (万能包丁) in Damascus-style 33-layer hammered laminate with a sword-tip profile, 160 mm edge, and mahogany handle, listed as Made in Japan and sold by KitcheNavi, shown as in stock. Three reasons it leads this guide: the 160 mm all-purpose geometry covers daily meat, fish, and vegetables in one tool; the Sakai Takayuki brand ties the piece to the Sakai Uchihamono division of labor; and the snapshot gives a verifiable price and seller rather than a vague recommendation. Price is ¥29,800 (≈ $199 USD as of October 2026), as of 2026-10-11, verify on the listing.

❓ Frequently Asked Questions

What exactly is the featured Sakai Takayuki santoku?
Per the Amazon JP listing as of October 11, 2026, it is a single New all-purpose santoku with a 160 mm blade in Damascus-style 33-layer hammered laminate and a mahogany handle, listed as Made in Japan and sold by KitcheNavi.
How much does it cost, and is the price current?
The snapshot shows ¥29,800 (about $199 USD at current rates), as of 2026-10-11, verify on the listing. Live pricing may have shifted since the writing date, so the linked listing is authoritative.
What is the difference between a santoku, a gyuto, and a nakiri?
The santoku is a medium all-purpose edge for meat, fish, and vegetables. The gyuto is longer and pointed for large cuts and rocking motion, while the nakiri is straight-edged for push-cutting vegetables.
Can buyers outside Japan order this knife?
The Amazon JP Global Store path ships internationally from Japan to 65+ countries including Canada, the UK, and Australia, with import fees estimated at checkout. If direct shipping is ever blocked, proxy services such as Buyee and Tenso forward Japan-only parcels.
Is the 160 mm length right for a home kitchen?
The data suggests 160 mm suits home-size boards and daily mixed prep. Cooks who regularly split large squash, whole cabbage, or roasts may prefer a 210 mm gyuto alongside or instead.
How should a layered-steel santoku with a wooden handle be cared for?
Wash promptly by hand, dry fully before storing, and avoid dishwashers and long soaks that swell wooden handles. Confirm the seller’s care guidance on the listing, since the snapshot does not state dishwasher terms.

jpmono.com is curated by a Japan-based editorial team (working out of Toyama in the Hokuriku region and Nara in Kansai) and is independent. We do not take payment from the makers we feature; income comes from affiliate links. Read more about our editorial standards.

📢 Affiliate Disclosure — This article contains affiliate links from the Amazon Associates Program. The primary path is Amazon US (amazon.com) via search — many of these hand-forged Japanese craft items are not individually listed on amazon.com, but Amazon US carries comparable Japanese kitchen and home goods, and commissions on whatever the visitor purchases through the search link go to support this site. The secondary path is Amazon JP Global Store (amazon.co.jp), which is where the specific items covered in this guide are sourced from and which ships internationally to most major destinations. If you make a purchase through either of these links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices and availability shown are based on data at the time of writing and may have changed — always verify at the retailer before purchasing. USD figures shown alongside JPY are approximate (¥150/USD baseline as of mid-2026); the JPY price is the authoritative one for the specific listed item.

Editorial research assisted by AI; facts checked against the listing snapshot and maker-region sources available at the time of writing.

Affiliate disclosure: jpmono.com may earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no additional cost to you.